The Auckland Australian Football Association was reformed in 1974 at the instigation of former Hawthorn player and current Hawthorn team medical officer, Dr Terry Gay.

In 1988 the Association shifted its four team competition to spring to avoid clashing with the traditional winter codes.

The Association changed its name to the Auckland Australian Football League in 1990.

The six Clubs in the League are Takapuna, North Shore, Waitakere, Mt Roskill, University and Manurewa.

The Auckland League has received tremendous assistance from the AFL Supporters' Club. The Club was founded by Bryan Wells, Dean Page and Stephen Lewis. Each year the Club runs a raffle with the proceeds being donated to the AAFL to promote football in Auckland.

In recognition of the efforts of the Supporters' Club, the Best Player in the Grand Final is presented with the specially struck "Bryan Wells Medal".