2011 - Wellington
by Leigh Dowie - Coach

Many thanks to all those players that put their hands up to compete in this years NPC Tournament. A mix of ages ranging from 14 - 35, with Waitakere and Manurewa Clubs contributing the majority of players. A successful weekend in exposing many inexperienced players to the highest level of domestic football. Unfortunately we were unable to bring the Trophy back to Auckland but having more players able to perform at this level for future tournaments will hold the Auckland squad in good shape next year.
A comfortable win over Waikato in the first game and holding them goalless was a great start ( a feat the other NPC teams could not do). A poor performance against Wellington exposed our inexperience but to fight back to have a chance to steal a win showed incredible character.
The final game vs defending champions Canterbury was a classic, bruising, grand final atmosphere type game. It was intense and very close throughout with Canterbury getting over the line by a narrow margin.
A solid weekend by all players with Roger "The Rock" White named as our Player of the Tournament. Other standout players were : Fraser "Doozer" Worthington, Stevie Johnson, Matt Hacket, David "Squirrel" Rattenbury, Michael Boyce.
Matt Hacket also picked up the Golden Boot award for the Tournament booting 7 goals.
Unfortunately the last game ended in one of our under 16 members being crashed in a marking contest that ended with him being taken to Wellington hospital for surgery after developing internal bleeding. He is to remain down there for several days after successful surgery and hopefully will be back up and running soon. We wish you all the best Kayd.

Squad Members:

David Rattenbury
Will Gregson
Mike Gregson
Andrew Marsden
Carl Gabriel
Ben Pine
Matt Hacket
Fraser Worthington
Daniel Moyle

Chris Mundell

Callum McLean
Michael Boyce

Stephen Power
Steven Johnson
Adam Selby
Jesse McGowan
Kayd Thompson
Jesse Mager
Joseph Ligaliga
Roger White

Ken Rowe

Aaron Harris
Bruce Ligaliga

Coach:  Leigh Dowie
Assistant:  Steve Power
Management: Ominae Ligaliga, Dave McFarlane

NPC 2010 ChCh
24 Oct 2010

Canterbury have taken out this years NPC title.  It came down to the last game for both Auckland and Canterbury to see who would be this years title holder.  And the Cantabrians took the game by 9 points in a low scoring game.
Congratulations to Canterbury on a great win.

The NZ U20's played 2 games against the visiting VAFA U18 side.  Both games saw the visitors as the winners, the first by 26 points and the second game by a more comfortable 40 points.
See also the NZAFL website link
Click Here

2009 NPC Squad

Congratulations to the following selected players:


David Rattenbury (Squirrel)
Andrew Rattenbury (Rats)
Matt Hacket
Andrew Marsden (Mars)
John Maling
Daniel McGregor


Kyle Wiltenburg (Guido)
David Cory-Toussaint
James Monaghan (Mono)
Sam Anderson (Ando)
Chris Mundell (Junior)
Hayden Brackenreg
Damien McDowell
Mark Fisher
Zach Large
Tim Stevens (Tiny)
Adam White
Josh White

North Shore

Andrew Crighton
Reece Worrall


Roger White
Vandyn Hartman (Diesel)

Mt Roskill

Brendan Clark
Adam Brunt
Dave Kay

Andrew Congalton
Tim Stevens
Jarrod Darlington